Thank You Trendenser.se!

by Liza Laserow

Screen Shot 2013-06-25 at 4.51.46 PM

antikviteter2_51bc6bf4e087c30243c2397aAntikviteter i Moden Miljö

Inatt när jag gick runt och vaggade Max till sömns för sjuhundraelfte gången föll min blick på bokhyllan och en coffe table book som jag fick i höstas, men som jag tidigare inte hunnit bläddra i. Antikviteter i modern miljö från Norstedts. Vilken lycka! Plötsligt fann jag svaret på en fråga som gnagt i mig sedan vi flyttat till modern funkislåda. Kan man blanda nytt och nött när man bor i nybyggt?

Translation: Last night when I was putting Max to sleep for the billon time I i noticed a coffee table book in my book case, given to me last fall. I havent had a chance to open it before but now i did – What a pleasure! All of the sudden I found the answer to a question that has been on my mind since we moved to our contemporary  house . “CAN YOU MIX OLD AND DISTRESSED WHEN YOU LIVE IN A CONTEMPORARY HOUSE?” 

antikviteter_i_modern_miljo2_51bc68f6e087c302e031920c

Jodå, faktiskt! Den här boken visar massor med goda exempel på att det går alldeles utmärkt och att det dessutom kan bli riktigt snyggt om man gör det med finess. Jag som annars varit en varm förespråkare av att man alltid ska hålla sig till den stil och tid som huset är byggt i fick plötsligt tänka om…vilket jag är tacksam för! Jag har ju dels varit rädd för att behöva slakta några ärvda älsklingar, dels varit lite rädd för att inredningen ska bli stel och opersonlig i vårt nya spikraka och kritvita hem. Men, efter att ha bläddrat igenom den här boken fick jag hopp om livet igen. Om du liksom jag gillar interiörer á laWonderdeco-stilen, men också bor i nybyggt – löp och köp! Eller låna boken på bibblan.

Translation: And the answer was: YES, actually you can! This book gives you tons of great examples showing that mixing old and new does not only work it can be really beautiful if you do it right. Me myself who have been a strong believer that you should stick to the style of what your house / apartment is build in had to rethink…for which I am more than grateful for! My fear have been both to getting rid of old inherited and beloved things and having to live in an stiff and sterile interior in our new and bright white home. After reading this book I all my fears were gone! If you like me like interiors a la Wonderdeco-stilen but is living in a newly built house go and get this book!!

antikviteter_i_modern_miljo1_51bc6dcfe087c301f8b18b6c

One of Swedens largest interior design blogs Trendenser.se by Frida Ramstedt wrote a lovely post about our book: Swedish Antiques in Modern Settings. The post is in Swedish but I have done my best to translate it here.

Thank you so much Frida for all your kind words!

 

